Accountable Healthcare - New Compact States: Louisiana and Kansas
Skip to Main Content Skip to Menu Skip to Footer
June 28, 2019

New Compact States: Louisiana and Kansas

Update to the Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact (eNLC)

On January 19, 2018 the enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) was implemented.  The enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact increases access to care while maintaining public protection at the state level.  Under the eNLC, nurses are able to provide care to patients in other eNLC states without having to obtain additional licenses. 

Two additional states have been added to the list of Nursing Licensure Compact (NLC) member states:  Louisiana (RN and PN) and Kansas.  These states will officially become members of the compact on July 1, 2019.

The original compact dissolved July 18, 2018.  Rhode Island is no longer a compact state as of 7/18/2018.

For nurses currently holding LA or KS state licenses, they will need to apply to their state Board of Nursing for a compact license.  This may take some time due to finger printing and other requirements.  Nurses currently holding compact licenses from other compact states will be eligible to work in LA and KS after July 1, 2019.

Nursing Licensure Compact Member States:  Alabama (1/1/2020), Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana (TBD), Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana RN, Louisiana PN, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia RN, West Virginia PN, Wisconsin, Wyoming.